A letter to my 18-year-old self

20131031-154911.jpg
I recently read of this idea to write to your younger self. It seemed a bit silly but turns out is quite an interesting way of thinking about your past and appreciating what you’ve learnt. So…here goes:
Dear young Eleisha,
Here is some advice I have for you, you cheeky little ratbag.

Don’t worry so much about the ‘stuff’. All the things you are now collecting will one day mean very little to you.
Friends are going to come an go in your life but the good ones will stick around. When some drift away it’s not your fault or theirs, it’s just life. And trust me there are so many more beautiful people that you are yet to meet who will enrich your life infinately.
Spend more time with your family. I know, I know they are so annoying and uncool right now. But one day you will be far away and trust me, you will yearn to be at family dinner happily bickering with them.
Clean your room, really dude, it’s disgusting.
Quit smoking, do it now it will be so much harder later.
Party if you want (really even if I told you not to you would anyway!). In the future you won’t regret the time spent partying, enjoy it while it’s new and exciting, it won’t always feel like this.
Read more, write more and don’t stop learning.
Don’t settle for anything less than happiness.
Be grateful for what you have. One day you will truly realise the privaledged life you lead but until then be appreciative.
Don’t worry so much about what people think of you, in the end you won’t even remember the names of the people you were trying so hard to impress.
The future looks very different to how you now picture it, life has a funny way of changing your plans. But, don’t worry, it’s so much better than you imagine.
Smile, the future is bright.

Yours Sincerely,
Old Eleisha

What would you say to your 18 year old self? It is an interesting exercise in self reflection.

5 thoughts on “A letter to my 18-year-old self

  1. I couldn’t have said it better at the time.

    • Hi my favourite aussi girls! I love your reflecions leish, such beautiful words! Tricia, don’t forget your plans on coming to Germany…there are so many vintage bags to explore, my friend in Berlin assured me there are plenty of them over there! Miss u girls! by the way; yesterday I bought a ticket to Buenos Aires in december. It’s been a real bargain (another word I learnt from Eleisha!), I feel really blessed today. you rock, both of you. take care

      • Smurf! Miss u! damn it, no trip to mexico then? but i know your heart is in argentina. nos vemos en alemania un día! me alegro q estes feliz. besos

      • Hi Smurf,
        you sound like a regular Aussie! Haven’t forgotten about Berlin and vintage bags. Next trip on the list after Jamaica. I am trying to find my daughter in the world.
        Have a grand time in Argentina.

  2. underdogdesign85

    I just got who Smurf is…

Any thoughts or ideas? Please join the conversation and comment below!

